CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 27, 2005, 10:29 AM
buscuitboy buscuitboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 325
Question more router ports needed

sponsored links

 
I currently have a NETGEAR 4 port wireless router in my home office. I have a few laptops & desktops connected to it wirelessly and 2 desktops hard wired connected to it. I want to basically have ALL the PCs hard wired connected to it in additiona to installing several jacks throughout the house in different rooms, but I will obviously need more ports. I think I'm looking at a total of 15-20 ports needed for the entire house. What is my best option to do this? Should I just get a whole new router that can handle all this or can I somehow expand onto my current 4 port router? hub, switches, etc.? Is there even a relatively inexpensive consumer product out there that will handle this amount since I seem to only really see 4 or 8 port routers for sale in retail outlets? I would like to also keep the wireless capability if possible in case I need it for some reason or change my mind down the road.
  #2  
Old May 31, 2005, 10:38 PM
QWERTY QWERTY is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 2,847
Default

You do not need another router. Just buy some cheap network hubs or switches and cascade them to the router.
  #3  
Old May 31, 2005, 11:29 PM
buscuitboy buscuitboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 325
Question

That sounds like a good idea and something I later wondered about & if I could do it. Let me ask this though & I've always wondered about it, but what is the difference between a "hub" & a "switch". Will I still be able to share files & printers with other computers conected to either the hub/switch or the main router (wired & wireless)?
  #4  
Old Jun 01, 2005, 02:09 PM
NateV NateV is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 769
Default

A hub will not allow devices to communciate simultaneously, a switch is a bit more 'intelligent' than a hub, and multiple devices may communicate simultaneously. Also, a switch may be a little faster over the network. You should be able to share files/printers no problem with either one. In your case, it's a small network, so the speed and simultaneous communication shouldn't be an issue. I'd say go with whatever's cheaper, most likely a hub.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do I open router ports? [linksys router; ; winXP] duwatchulyke Windows XP 4 Dec 02, 2008 10:32 PM
more ports needed buscuitboy Computer Networking & Security 1 Oct 12, 2004 01:17 PM
Cable needed for router boodykaka2003 Computer Networking & Security 2 Aug 20, 2003 09:23 AM
router help needed (connecting two computers) ThE SnAkE Computer Networking & Security 1 Nov 24, 2002 12:01 AM
Router I/O ports!!! HELP The Mafia Computer Networking & Security 6 Jul 26, 2002 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved