CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 02, 2005, 09:27 PM
dboyd2 dboyd2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default cd/dvd-rom not showing up in bios or computer startup


 
hi,
ive just installed a serial ata hard drive on an asus a8ve-deluxe mobo and i installed the drivers for the harddrive with a floppy but the problem arises when i want to install windows xp or use any cd rom for that matter. my computer will not even read the cdrom drive...nothing shows up during startup under primary master and slave and secondary master and slave. ive tried changing the boot priority to cdrom, harddrive, removable, and disable as boot priority 1-4. ive tried 2 different cd rom drives....one from a compaq computer and it gets power and everything but it isnt read in bios or anything. then ive tried a samsung cdrom from a dell computer which works with a different asus mobo. this time i cant get the cdrom drive to even open but when i take off the interface cable it gets power and will open...this might just be cause i had the interface cable in the wrong spot but ive tried every which way. the main problem is that i just cant get the cdrom to be read by the bios/computer. i just need to install xp and my comp will work. any suggestions??? please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jun 02, 2005, 11:28 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

You need to go back to basics.

Double-check all the cables, and make sure they are using the correct Master/Slave hierarchy. Don't use Cable-Select.

Try not to mix hard drives with optical drives (CD and DVD drives) on the same controller.

Eg Floppy has a controller all to itself, there are no jumper pins.

Place all hard drives on Primary Controller in the correct Master/Slave setting.

Install all optical drives on the Secondary Controller in the correct Master/Slave setting.

Once you are sure the physical connections are correct, go into the Bios and check that all the installed devices are detected and displayed correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jun 07, 2005, 12:52 PM
dboyd2 dboyd2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Ok, well I did what you said. I made the DVD Drive the Master and the CD Burner the Slave. They are both on the same IDE Ribbon on the Secondary controller. It still isnt working. Both Drives are not being detected. My CD Burner I just bought wont even open. When I take the IDE cable out and just leave the power cable in, then it does open. Maybe the CD Burner is defective, I dont know. Please Help!


Ive also tried setting each one up by themselves and still nothing...so I dont know
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jun 10, 2005, 08:54 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

Try another IDE ribbon, and only have one Master device on your Secondary Controller for now so you don't complicate things.

Once you have changed the IDE ribbon with the correct one, make sure the drive is displayed in the Bios correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jun 11, 2005, 10:40 AM
handyguy handyguy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Monterey, Calif
Posts: 9,647
Default

In my bios i have to change the cdrom selection to AUTO for it to detect.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jun 14, 2005, 07:26 PM
dboyd2 dboyd2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I've tried different IDE ribbons and still nothing. The problem in my BIOS is I cant even set it as auto because the CD-ROM option isnt there. It SHOULD be, but it's not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd Rom Won't Read Audio Cd's [Hp; 8770; win98SE] bowlisha CD-R & CD-RW 2 Aug 24, 2002 02:19 PM
need help locking computer on startup LSDigital Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 May 11, 2002 07:16 PM
If I had 2 DVD rom drives in my computer.... energize DVD 3 Feb 18, 2002 02:23 AM
Bleem!Paks...Readable in Computer Cd/Dvd Drive...? gAm3 Fr3aQu3 Dreamcast 2 Feb 18, 2002 12:45 AM
HP mitsumi CD ROm is killliiiinnng me magrurry Device Driver Questions 1 Feb 08, 2002 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved