CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Sep 07, 2005, 11:48 AM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

sponsored links

 
prolly a back to basics to start..... what did you have connected to the ribbon cables originally. You say you have two.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Sep 07, 2005, 12:05 PM
puntoandy puntoandy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Default

one was the original hard drive in the pc and the one was the cdrom. but after messing im not sure which ribbon was connected to what now (if that makes a difference?)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Sep 07, 2005, 12:28 PM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puntoandy
one was the original hard drive in the pc and the one was the cdrom. but after messing im not sure which ribbon was connected to what now (if that makes a difference?)
well yes it does make a huge difference really....

the boot device should be your hard drive, this should be set as master and fitted to IDE 1, if you have a look at the sockets on the mobo, they are noted as IDE1 and IDE2.. before you do anything else. ensure the HDrive is in the correct one, and the CDrom works connected to the other cable
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Sep 08, 2005, 04:40 AM
puntoandy puntoandy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Default

ok... my laptop hard drive has worked under windows on my old pc.

i have copied all files over onto my pc's hard drive.

my next mission is to install windows xp back onto my laptop drive.
my winxp cdrom works under windows, but doesnt seem to strt the setup on bootup. (even after changing in bios for cdrom to come on first).
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Sep 08, 2005, 02:39 PM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

you are going to have to format the laptop hard drive, copy the full CD onto the laptop hard drive as is, put it back into the laptop and run the setup,exe file off there..

well done BTW for accessing your files
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Sep 09, 2005, 10:43 AM
puntoandy puntoandy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Default

good good. sounds pretty easy from here.

many thanks for all your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with ide card and second hard drive cocker92 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Oct 01, 2003 03:09 AM
laptop hard drive question [sony; pcg-f807k; win2KPro] the_hittman Windows 2000 6 Jan 08, 2003 06:01 PM
hookup 2nd hard drive !!!help!!! [dell dimension 4100; ; winXP] napville2000 Windows XP 4 Jul 24, 2002 12:48 PM
Adding a hard drive question ??? Kaizerboy Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jul 14, 2002 05:29 PM
IBM hard drive compatibility? MrBean2002 Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 Jun 04, 2002 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved