CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > CD Graphics & Karaoke
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 12, 2005, 12:42 PM
bamalama bamalama is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Default Svid to Tv Monitor...no color

sponsored links

 
I have a Toshiba laptop and connect to the TV thru s-video out and an RCA plug to my TV. I use the dual display function on XP to extend my display to the TV. It works fine after I use the mouse cursor to move the karaoke screen off to the side. The problem is, the TV display is in color. I am in USA (NTSC). I have an ATI Mobility RADEON 9000 graphics card. Any suggestions?
  #2  
Old Sep 12, 2005, 03:06 PM
dennisgb dennisgb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bamalama
I have a Toshiba laptop and connect to the TV thru s-video out and an RCA plug to my TV. I use the dual display function on XP to extend my display to the TV. It works fine after I use the mouse cursor to move the karaoke screen off to the side. The problem is, the TV display is in color. I am in USA (NTSC). I have an ATI Mobility RADEON 9000 graphics card. Any suggestions?
Hmmm? Not sure exacly what you are saying. Is there [B]no[/B] color on the TV?

I have an ATI Radeon card that I run to three TV's. On two of the screens I get color, on the one farthest away from my computer, I get BW. I have tried boosting the signal, rewiring, nothing works.

I think the ATI cards are not able to drive the signal to the TV's enough. I had them all working with my AverMedia box.

If you figure this out let me know too.
  #3  
Old Sep 12, 2005, 06:24 PM
modo modo is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Notre Dame Cathedral
Posts: 3,588
Default

S-Video carries the picture (luminance) and colour (chrominance) signal components separately. If you don`t use a proper S-vid to composite (rca) connector you will get no colour.
I presume this is what your problem is - despite your rambling description
  #4  
Old Sep 12, 2005, 07:59 PM
bamalama bamalama is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Default Svid to Tv Monitor...no color

My apologies! The problem is.....the display on the TV is in black and white. MODO, you may be right. When I bought the adapter I have now, it was
"S-video" to 2 RCA pins (a red 1 and a white 1, which seemed like it should be for audio). I will get another adapter, and post the results. Thanks all.
  #5  
Old Sep 13, 2005, 07:42 PM
bamalama bamalama is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Default

I got a new connector. Voila! I got COLOR! It was the S-video to RCA adapter that was the problem. Thanks a ton for saving me a ton of time troubleshooting other settings and stuff.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
high color & true color buscuitboy Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Jan 13, 2004 01:56 AM
CD-R media color Sindicate Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Apr 25, 2003 06:35 AM
DVDr - color problems? Please help! fishypants DVD 1 Jan 14, 2003 11:39 AM
color mod Baturkin17 Video Game Backup - Xbox 2 Dec 02, 2002 12:46 PM
true color 32bit???????? HELP PLEASE [HP; Pavilion 6746c; winME] [HP ; Pavilion 6746c; winME] tecnotec Windows ME 2 May 19, 2002 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved