CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Nov 10, 2005, 11:03 PM
alkatrazz3 alkatrazz3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 152
Default

sponsored links

 
will it erase the hard drive if i convert fat32 to NTFS? Also do you think a fan will help cooling the inside of the case?

alk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Nov 10, 2005, 11:12 PM
marimo marimo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 368
Default

Read here for your question about conversion:

***********.ntfs.com/quest3.htm

How many fans do you have in your case?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Nov 10, 2005, 11:33 PM
alkatrazz3 alkatrazz3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 152
Default

thank you very much for the info

alk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Nov 10, 2005, 11:49 PM
alkatrazz3 alkatrazz3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 152
Default

ok this is what i'm getting:

The type of the file is FAT32
Convert cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Convert may run if this volume is dismounted first.
ALL OPENED HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID.
Would you like to force a dismount on this volume? Y/N



What is dismounting the volume and what will it do? What do they meant by being invalid? Really appreciate all the input.

alk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Nov 11, 2005, 12:05 AM
marimo marimo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 368
Default

I believe that if you dismount the disk, it will be temporarilly unavailable to windows, but I am not sure what will happen. If you press no, then I believe that it will ask you if you want to schedule whatever you are trying to do, to happen the next time you start windows.

I would choose NO, and see what it says.

And I am not sure what they mean by invalid, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Nov 11, 2005, 01:52 PM
alkatrazz3 alkatrazz3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 152
Default

I went ahead and clicked no and this is what i got:

Convert cannot gain axclusive access to the C: drive so it cannot convert it now. Would you like to schedule it to be converted the next time the system restarts (Y/N)?


What should i do?
I just want to make sure i'm not gonna loose my data. thanx for the input
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! TMPGenc freezes WHOLE computer when converting ASFs bganthis VideoCD 11 Jul 26, 2003 09:38 PM
Computer freezes? gangsta400 Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 May 07, 2003 03:07 PM
Why does every time I try to Stand By, my computer FREEZES? [Compaq; 5WV270; winXP] LiLViEtDuDe917 Windows XP 1 Jul 30, 2002 01:52 AM
Please Help. My computer constantly freezes OuTcAst Open to All Computer Related Topics 9 Jul 08, 2002 08:36 AM
Computer ALWAYS freezes when trying to burn multisession discs StrugZ CD-R & CD-RW 2 Apr 09, 2002 03:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved