CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 26, 2005, 06:56 PM
stilgar91 stilgar91 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Question is it possible to play backups without a chip or swapmagic?


 
hello, sry if i say something stupid... i'm pretty much of a newbie.
but let's get to the point. is it possible to play backups without a chip or swapmagic?
there are all these programs who say like: "make backups of your ps2 games"
but is it also possible to do this (with or without these programs) to play these backups. i'm willing to buy a ps2 hdd if i have to and other programs.

also, can you play protected and/or dual-layer (dvd9) ps2 games on a hdd with a hddloader or other stuff.

i also have arcade replay v2 (i know it's pretty old but...) and if someone knows any other tuto's or can directly help me i would be REALLY greatfull

for those who will try to help: thnx very much
  #2  
Old Dec 30, 2005, 04:24 AM
music_man music_man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default

Tou can play backups without swap magic or a modchip.

See NeverMindnames's thread "This is how to install CogSwapLoader...bye bye swap magic 2/3"

or follow these instructions

swapmagicfix.com/exploit.html
  #3  
Old Jan 17, 2006, 06:34 AM
bigbeefy bigbeefy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

i just looked at the swap magic fix thing you posted and it says to me that you still need a swap magic disc

so i would say no you cannot play ps2 backups without either a modchip or swap magic
  #4  
Old Jan 17, 2006, 01:48 PM
limited limited is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 91
Default

yes you can, you need the old game shark...
-Lex
  #5  
Old Feb 13, 2006, 10:37 AM
usaf_sp usaf_sp is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default

If you are in the United States, Wal-Mart is just about everywhere. Unfortunately Wal-Mart no longer carries Gameshark, but you can use any version of CodeBreaker to install the Memory Card Independence Exploit.

You need to have a Flash drive, a PC, PS2 Memory Card, Original PS1 Game for a trigger, PS2 Original Game for CogSwap's DVD large disk addressing and CodeBreaker to make this work.

In regards to burining the game, make sure that you use the slowest speed that your burner supports in order to avoid stuttering in the game's video as the PS2 laser is able to correct the errors that your DVD burner can. Also incase you do not know this yet, make sure that you are using DVD -R to have the greatest compatibility. The older PS2s do not read +R or RW.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRO play chip?? ijsman Video Game Backup - PS2 0 Feb 25, 2003 03:21 AM
Re: evox needed just to play backups? jesterrace777 Xbox Modchip Help & Installation 5 Jan 29, 2003 10:32 PM
new xbox,what do i need to play backups? rudd_alexander Video Game Backup - Xbox 2 Nov 26, 2002 10:32 AM
no-solder mod chip and types of backups that it will play spinna Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Jul 29, 2002 10:36 AM
How to play backups on PS2 without chip? mac-man Mac User 2 Jan 24, 2002 02:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved