CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > VideoCD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 05, 2002, 05:04 PM
zozer7 zozer7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 129
Default Blocky Vcds

sponsored links

 
I converted my divx/DVD rips to vcd some of them are kinda blocky (blocky pixls on the screen. I use video pack 5 to convert them. Can the ever be as clear as a DVD. I watch them on a 52 inch screen could this be the problem.
  #2  
Old Mar 05, 2002, 05:20 PM
socrates75 socrates75 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 422
Default

You should try and convert them to svcd, much better.
  #3  
Old Mar 05, 2002, 10:02 PM
paulcat paulcat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 289
Default

Convert it to DVD quality using VCD format? MMM, that is impossible but ohh, ask Video Arcade, he seems to know how to get VCD the best looking format

Anyways, from me. Try encoding it to SVCD. You've got a very nice screen, you should try different methods of encoding.

Why dont you give DVD2SVCD a try. This is a great program and does the rip and ecndoing all in one shot. Use Multipass VBR and you will be stunned on how good it can actually look like in SVCD

  #4  
Old Mar 05, 2002, 10:13 PM
DaveMode DaveMode is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Orlando, FL USA
Posts: 470
Default

I used to convert my divX format DVD rips to VCD and SVCD.. but then just went with a TV Out card for my computer.. I like keeping all my stuff on one disc. I figure, eventually, DVD burners and media will come down in price and I can covert back to DVD without much loss in quality.
  #5  
Old Mar 05, 2002, 10:48 PM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

If you want VCDs or SVCDs, then the best thing to do is convert straight from the DVD source.. Everytime you re-encode something you loose quality.
  #6  
Old Mar 06, 2002, 01:04 PM
Video_Arcade Video_Arcade is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 3,001
Default

LoL now I know why Paul reckons that SVCD is better, because he has to use an all in one program to do his ripping for him.

Think I rest my case there. People that can`t rip VCD properly have to result in using all in one programs so all they do is just click on go and the program does it all for them. No research, no experimenting. No finding the best results through trial and error, just a case of taking the easy option.

Sorted
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't make VCDs with menus using Nero & .mpeg files Nitro2 VideoCD 3 Mar 21, 2003 04:13 AM
Cannot read from VCDs or music CDs [; ; win98] Dr Anomaly CD-R & CD-RW 2 Sep 25, 2002 01:51 AM
Where is the website that tells about newest vcds? AV VideoCD 3 Sep 01, 2002 12:10 PM
Playing VCD's with .mpg files on MAC MC2 VideoCD 2 May 19, 2002 11:42 AM
Sample VCD's? fawlty VideoCD 3 Apr 06, 2002 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved