CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > VideoCD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 07, 2002, 12:11 AM
tsay2cx tsay2cx is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,328
Default How long will it take me to rip a DVD to a VCD/SVCD??

sponsored links

 
I got a 1.4ghz computer, with 80gig of hard drive, and 256meg of ddr ram.. Just wondering with this computer, how long will it take me to rip a 2 hours DVD movie into a proper VCD/SVCD?? I used to rip DVD into divx with my 450mhz computer, and the encoding alone will take up to like 8-9 hours.. Thanks in advance for the help..
  #2  
Old Mar 07, 2002, 12:52 AM
Video_Arcade Video_Arcade is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 3,001
Default

Take you possibly 3 - 5 hours for VCD and 3 - 9 hours on SVCD

Your hard drive doesn`t make any difference to how fast it rips, just your processor and memory. Sometimes there`s not a big leap when you swap processors but there will be upgrading from a 450.

A tip what I found out, check your cpu temp in the bios, if it`s very high 40 + then change your CPU fan as I found this makes a difference in how fast it will rip. Is about 10 for a fan thats designed for the XP 2000 if you want cheap.
  #3  
Old Mar 07, 2002, 05:17 AM
shortbond shortbond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: leicester, uk
Posts: 81
Default

I can give you my experience, if it's of any use.
I have 2 computers, a 1 Gig Athlon with 256 Mb, and a 1800+ Athlon with 512 Mb. The rip (Smartripper) takes about 30 mins, I think it depends on the speed of your DVD-Rom. DVD2AVI is also about 30 mins.
The encode (TMPGEnc) takes 5 to 6 hours on the first machine, and about 1 hour 30 mins on the second pc.
As video-arcade said, the size of the hard-disk doesn't matter, this is a cpu-intensive exercise.
Hope this helps.
  #4  
Old Mar 08, 2002, 01:11 AM
tsay2cx tsay2cx is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,328
Default

thanks for the help..
  #5  
Old Mar 08, 2002, 08:05 AM
scousemouse scousemouse is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Liverpool, England
Posts: 319
Default

what dvd rom have you got please shortbond
  #6  
Old Mar 08, 2002, 04:34 PM
Video_Arcade Video_Arcade is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 3,001
Default

Short you need to do the following, especially if your using an 1800

1) goto bios
2) see what the cpu temp is like if it`s 40 + you need to replace your fan
3) If it`s a low cpu temp then replace the software, check your aspi layers etc

I had the same problem running a 1.3 my 800 was ripping, encoding and everything else faster than a 1.3 with 512 megs of ram. I changed the CPU fan only a 10 I brought but was for a 2000 CPU and no problems now.

Always best to get CPU`s at a higher rating than the actual CPU and as I find out often dont buy cheap equipment as usually it has a tendacy to bugger up faster.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Hours To Rip A DVD ?? ng2003uk VideoCD 9 Jul 02, 2003 08:24 PM
How long does it take people to rip a dvd? Matt DVD 20 Jul 15, 2002 01:53 PM
how long does it take to make a dvd to dvd copy GTIR DVD 1 Jun 30, 2002 12:40 PM
Cannot Rip a DVD Using Any Software Alx2050 VideoCD 4 May 20, 2002 04:48 AM
how do u rip a multi-episode dvd? iamlarge DVD 2 May 16, 2002 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved