CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Legacy Game Backup > Dreamcast
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Apr 22, 2002, 03:18 PM
DkantDside DkantDside is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Salinas, CA. United States
Posts: 534
Default using grom (smd to bin converter)

sponsored links

 
I am having trouble using this program. When i click on the grom application, a dos window comes up for like a a second and then closes. Is this how i suppose to use this program because im not very good with using dos. Can someone please help me?
  #2  
Old Apr 22, 2002, 05:30 PM
Deekman Deekman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 132
Default

1st: Make sure all of you roms are in the same directory as grom.exe (eg. C:\Roms
2nd: Go to start menu/programs/MS-dos Prompt and you should get a dos window that says: C:\windows>
3rd: Type "cd.." without quates
4th: type "cd roms" witout quates
5th: type "grom.exe *.smd" without quates
It should say now converting and it will start converting the files then when it's done that it should bring you back to the screen you started at. eg "C:\Roms>
6th: Type "exit" without quates
7th: using windows explorer go into the roms directory and make sure they've all been converted and delete any roms with a .smd filename.

Deacon
  #3  
Old Apr 22, 2002, 05:34 PM
Deekman Deekman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 132
Default

Let me know how you go
  #4  
Old Apr 22, 2002, 05:54 PM
snake78 snake78 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,847
Default

Just remember, though, that grom doesn't work 100% of the time. [b]So before you go and delete your smd roms, check to make sure that they were converted.[/b]

And if they weren't, check them with romcenter (with both the "-smd" datfile and the "-bin" datfile)
  #5  
Old Apr 23, 2002, 04:52 PM
DkantDside DkantDside is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Salinas, CA. United States
Posts: 534
Default

Thanks for the help guys but theres just one more thing. Its says to burn using cdrwin which is fine but theres a part where it says to check open new session in the recording options but it wont let me because its highlated with gray and wont let me check it. The only thing it lets me check is test mode option. Is it because im using a demo version?
  #6  
Old Apr 23, 2002, 05:08 PM
snake78 snake78 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,847
Default

Nope.

Sadly, that means that your burner is not fully compatible with CDRWin, so you won't be able to burn SegaGEN with the lemec loader.

That's been my experience anyway.

Last edited by snake78; Apr 23, 2002 at 05:11 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bin file but no cue file, how do i burn? superswans Video Game Backup - PS2 6 Jan 02, 2004 03:37 PM
Smd 2 Bin SophmoreBHS Dreamcast 1 Aug 29, 2003 08:08 PM
How do i burn Bin images SheriffRoms Dreamcast 1 Aug 03, 2003 04:12 PM
bin file..no cue sheet hwjchim Legacy Game Backup 4 Apr 17, 2003 05:40 AM
CAVS Decoder CDG converts MCG to BIN Keymaster CD Graphics & Karaoke 2 Jan 25, 2002 12:23 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved