CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #19  
Old May 09, 2002, 04:38 PM
Ki99 Ki99 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Uk
Posts: 588
Default

sponsored links

 
thanks both, im not really confident enough to take everything apart I will have a go at the IDE's though cheers
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 09, 2002, 04:40 PM
Ki99 Ki99 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Uk
Posts: 588
Default

from the manuel it says its a pc266 systemboard a socket A m810 series, hope this helps

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old May 09, 2002, 04:59 PM
Ki99 Ki99 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Uk
Posts: 588
Default

good news I took out my flopy and cd drive it now works bad news is it says my cmos settings are wrong and I have no cd drive or flopy, im sorry to be a pain in the arse
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 10, 2002, 05:13 AM
CHR15 CHR15 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,619
Default

Glad you're getting somewhere now

Try refitting the floppy cable, the floppy is probably the most unlikely of the 2 to be defective. Just check that when you reboot, the floppy light should only light up for a short tmie, then go out. Post back if it remains on.

Check on the back of the CDROM and make sure the Jumper is set to SLAVE (assuming its on the same IDE Cable as the Hard Drive).


The message about CMOS setting being wrong is Normal for this board.
As I recall it says something like [b]CMOS Incorrect, F1 to setup[/b]
or something like that.

Press F1 and go into BIOS, you will have to set the Date and Time etc.

Set all the IDE Devices to AUTO to enable the PC to recognise the HDD and CDROM

Go through the BIOS options slowly, make sure your Boot Sequence is Floppy First, then IDE-0, then CDROM, Other Boot devices, None.

I cant remember the Menu option, Advanced maybe, but look for the DRAM speed and FSB speed. You will see the CPU Speed in this screen but it will be greyed out.

Set the DRAM Speed to 100 to be safe (or you know you have PC133 Ram Installed, in which case set 133)

The other Option (which also goes between 100/133) is for the FSB Speed, Set which ever one shows a CPU Speed of 1.2 (or 1200), this is probably 100 also.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 10, 2002, 06:46 AM
Ki99 Ki99 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Uk
Posts: 588
Default

thanks for getting back to me m8, I put the floppy back in and it works ok but not with the cd drive, my HD and CD are on different IDE's would it be better to put them on the same IDE? The other thing is that my computer has still not found the PCI soundcard any ideas? thanks for all the help, I really do appreciate it
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old May 10, 2002, 06:57 AM
divers divers is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Benalla, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
Default

This May not help but jere goes

********support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q303980
Or try these out below

********download.com.com/3001-2086-4386308.html
This is a trial version that should work off a bootable floppy for testing mem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best and cheapest Sim Card to get for checking my email? JapPS2User Consumer's Opinion 0 Jan 04, 2003 07:44 AM
What's the best and cheapest mobile for checking my emails on? JapPS2User Consumer's Opinion 0 Jan 04, 2003 07:39 AM
*** DVD Checking Is It Possible ?? *** SpookynessUK DVD 1 Sep 13, 2002 05:23 AM
Can Any1 Recommend A Virus Scan 4 Checking Downloaded Files [; ; winXP] Gibbo121 Windows XP 2 Sep 06, 2002 09:28 AM
checking e-mail makes pc go off-line. why? gooty Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Aug 14, 2002 04:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved