CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #25  
Old May 10, 2002, 07:01 AM
divers divers is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Benalla, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
Default

sponsored links

 
sorry guys a bit behind the times here...didn't see page two
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old May 10, 2002, 08:31 AM
CHR15 CHR15 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,619
Default

I wouldn't worry abou the PCI Soundcard for now. Pull it out and leave it until the rest of the system is going.

The 810LMR has onboard sound (enabled in BIOS somewhere). It is best to use this until you are up and running. The Driver disk which comes with that mainboard will automatically install the Drivers for the onboard stuff so let it do its thing before making changes.

It doesn't make too much difference where the CDROM goes. When I build a system with one Hard Disk and One CDROM, the they both go on the Primary IDE port, it also means I only need one IDE Cable.

Make Sure the Hard Drive Jumpers are set to MASTER. It should have come as Master by Default but double Check anyway. You may have to remove the screws which hold it in place and pull it half way out to check. Almost all hard drives have a label stuck on them which shows the Jumper Configuration, check this is so.

Also check the CDROM Jumper as well, this should be SLAVE. You should find this info, normally imprinted on the back of the drive just above the Jumper pins.

Also make sure the Hard Drive is on the PRIMARY IDE PORT, normally BLUE nowadays but I think that mainboard has a RED socket. Check the manual to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old May 10, 2002, 05:50 PM
Ki99 Ki99 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Uk
Posts: 588
Default

I put the cd drive on the same ide as the hd and its working thanks a lot m8 only problem now is I still havent got any sound as the sytem isnt finding my pci soundcard and the onboard freezes when the pc looks for it
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old May 11, 2002, 01:05 AM
Elexorien Elexorien is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Check to make sure everything is set at 100 Mhz in the Bios. If the board is capable of 266 the ram clock may be set at 133 and if you have 1600 ddr
ram this could be causing the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old May 11, 2002, 11:32 AM
Ki99 Ki99 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Uk
Posts: 588
Default

everything is set to 100 mhz but still doesnt recognise the pci card when I plug it in??
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old May 13, 2002, 08:21 AM
CHR15 CHR15 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,619
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by Ki99 [/i]
[B] the onboard freezes when the pc looks for it [/B]
I'm going from memory here.

Once you have the PC up and running with the OS Installed, there will be no sound present.

If you look in Device Manager you will see a couple of Exclamation Marks. One is definately the Modem, the other may be Sound. Ignore these for now.

The Mainboard Driver Disk should Auto Run and configure the sound for you, after about 7 or 8 Reboots, the sound should appear (windows Startup sound).

I've never had any problems with the sound on those boards. The onboard Sound is enable in BIOS by default, double check anyway. There is a couple of BIOS entries refering to sound.

I cant remember the Sound chipset onthe board but your manual should state which it is. You could run the Setup program from the CDROM instead of allowing the automated procedure to configure it.

Either way, Don't let Windows search and install its own, run the Setup file on the Disk.

The Modem is slightly different, delete the file with the exclamation mark in Device Manager and reboot, point Windows at the CDROM AMR folder and simply choose the driver for your OS.


I would look at this before going into inserting your PCI Card if I were you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best and cheapest Sim Card to get for checking my email? JapPS2User Consumer's Opinion 0 Jan 04, 2003 07:44 AM
What's the best and cheapest mobile for checking my emails on? JapPS2User Consumer's Opinion 0 Jan 04, 2003 07:39 AM
*** DVD Checking Is It Possible ?? *** SpookynessUK DVD 1 Sep 13, 2002 05:23 AM
Can Any1 Recommend A Virus Scan 4 Checking Downloaded Files [; ; winXP] Gibbo121 Windows XP 2 Sep 06, 2002 09:28 AM
checking e-mail makes pc go off-line. why? gooty Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Aug 14, 2002 04:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved